Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/home/content/46/5286946/tmp/sess_aip2e5mthedq8actku24b2g6t0, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in /home/content/46/5286946/html/wp-content/plugins/si-contact-form/si-contact-form.php on line 1947

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/46/5286946/html/wp-content/plugins/si-contact-form/si-contact-form.php:1947) in /home/content/46/5286946/html/wp-content/plugins/si-contact-form/si-contact-form.php on line 1947

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/content/46/5286946/html/wp-content/plugins/si-contact-form/si-contact-form.php:1947) in /home/content/46/5286946/html/wp-content/plugins/si-contact-form/si-contact-form.php on line 1947
VR Christensen, author of neo-Victorian and Edwardian historical fiction.



Something new is afoot!

And it’s something completely different!

Absinthe Moon

Like the page on Facebook and get weekly updates!

Check out my ideation board on Pinterest!

Read the introductory chapters here.


Also coming soon…

Gods Kindle

One man’s experience. One woman’s naivete’. What happens when the two collide?

Look for it spring of 2015!

(Read an excerpt)

Available now!

Peacock Kindle

(Click on cover for excerpt.)

Watch the trailer.

Read the review from Historical Novel Review!

Cry of the Peacock

After the death of her father, Abbie Gray is offered a place within her wealthy landlord’s family. Such an opportunity, however, seems perhaps too good to be true, particularly since her own family’s feelings towards Sir Nicholas and Lady Crawford have always been tinged with resentment. But, at last having exhausted all other alternatives, Abbie accepts the invitation, determined to make the most of this extraordinary opportunity.

While Abbie is being groomed according to the ideals of Society—and of the eldest son, heir to title and property—the younger brothers attempt to expose her as the mercenary they believe she must be. But when they discover that her mysterious past is closely—even disturbingly—connected with their own, they are forced to ask themselves some very hard questions about the meaning of integrity and honour, and, perhaps most importantly of all, what it means to be worthy of the title “gentleman.”

 Bonus material available for a limited time!

The Invitation is the first five chapters of the original version of Cry of the Peacock—reworked to be told as a short story.

Arabella and Mariana Gray are presented with an invitation to assume residence in their landlord’s grand country estate. Mariana considers it the opportunity of a lifetime, while Abbie fears being beholden to her landlords, toward whom her recently deceased parents had long held resentment.

When the invitation is refused, and the sisters go instead to live with an aunt in London, will they regret their decision, or will they find purpose to their lives they had never expected to know? The question is the same for both sisters. The answer, however, is vastly different.

This bonus material is FREE. In the event that Amazon fails to list the promotion, please download it here.

Moths front

(click on the cover for an excerpt)
Watch the trailer.

Of Moths and Butterflies

Archer Hamilton is a collector of rare and beautiful insects. Gina Shaw is a servant in his uncle’s house. Clearly out of place in the position in which she has been discovered, she becomes a source of fascination . . . and curiosity.

A girl with a blighted past and a fortune she deems a curse, Gina has lowered herself in order to find escape from her family and their scheming designs. But when she is found, the stakes suddenly become dire.

All Gina wants is the freedom to live her life as she would wish. All her aunts want is the money that comes with her. But there is more than one way to trap an insect. An arranged marriage might turn out profitable for more parties than one.

Mr. Hamilton is about to make the acquisition of a lifetime. But will the price be worth it? Can a woman captured and acquired learn to love the man who has bought her?

Available in hardcover, paperback and Kindle.

 Read the reviews.



Sixteen Seasons4

A collection of short stories from bestselling author V.R. Christensen. The collection features stories loosely based on holiday themes, including two Christmas stories, one for Lent and several ghost stories that may or may not be for Halloween. There are even a few that are related to the novels Of Moths and Butterflies and Cry of the Peacock, as well as Gods and Monsters (scheduled for release in spring of 2014.) Want to know how Abbie Gray and her sister were persuaded to leave their beloved home at Holdaway? Or what happened to Roger Barrett and Claire Montegue? Or perhaps you’re interested to know what happened to the child fathered by the wicked Frederick Emerson. Find out in Sixteen Seasons.

Amazon button

Feel free to contact me about anything you see on this site.

Comments Closed

subscribe button
subscribe button
Regarding Annie
Regarding Annie
The Bath Novels of Lady A~
The Bath Novels of Lady A~

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/46/5286946/tmp/sess_aip2e5mthedq8actku24b2g6t0, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0